

# **Europeana Foundation Governing Board Meeting**

6 April 2017 16h30 – 18h00 CEST Teleconference Call-in Instructions

# Nominations, Candidacies and Election of Representatives of Content Holder Associations and Expert; Nomination of Vice Chair

Action proposed: For approval of basecamp voting and the resolution to appoint the representatives of content holder associations; for discussion about basecamp nominations for the seat of expert and decision on the way forward; nomination for Vice Chair

### **Background and summary of nominations**

#### Associations of Content Holders

At the meeting of 27 February 2017, The Board resolved that Jan Muller, the Chair of Europeana Foundation shall be re-appointed, as Chair, representing television archives on the Board from 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2019, and agreed on the process and timeline of nomination, election and appointment of the other three members. On completion of their two years, Richard Ranft, Monika Hagedorn-Saupe and Jeannette Frey will stand down on 30 June 2017. They were eligible to re-stand for election for a second consecutive term. Monika and Jeannette are running for the second term. Richard (IASA) has decided to stand down for this round due to the workload. Between 7 and 20 March the originally represented Associations of Content Holders in Europeana governance: Association des Cinematheques Europeennes, CENL, European Museum Forum, European Museum Academy, EURBICA, CERL, MICHAEL Culture Association and NEMO were invited by email to come forward. So were the current Associations represented on Europeana Board.

At the time of completing this paper, EURBICA is definitely running for election; ACE and EMA have expressed interest and we are in conversation with CENL. CERL is not running but supports LIBER. MICHAEL and NEMO wish to be represented by Monika Hagedorn-Saupe for another term. European Museum Forum has not reacted to the invitation. Nominations or candidacy of associations and representing persons were made via email and basecamp and collected on <a href="mailto:basecamp">basecamp</a>.

At our last Board meeting it was thought that we could vote via basecamp but as candidates have still to confirm, the procedure has been altered. As well as the candidates below we will add any others to the basecamp thread at the latest by March 30. We will assess at that point if we need to have a vote, and if we do, we will set it up in the thread. The final appointments will be made during the Board meeting on 6 April.



When voting Board members are invited to take into account the constituency of the Board, the <u>refined strategy 2020</u> and the geographic spread, content distribution of the candidates and/or nominees and the seniority/knowledge/experience of the candidates/nominees. The Board shall officially adopt the decision and appoint the three representatives of content holder associations at the 6 April 2017 meeting.

#### Candidates / Nominees

## 1) Monika Hagedorn-Saupe

To represent museums: ICOM-Europe, NEMO and Michael Culture Association. Monika is also involved in the development of the German Digital Library and thus in the discussions with museums in Europe on "why to digitise", why and how to open up", "the need for making their collections visible as widely as possible". She teaches museology at the University of Applied Science in Berlin, and is a faculty member in the Museum Studies Program of the Johns Hopkins University in Washington. She is also connected with the European Museum Forum (EMF) for museum research. Her candidacy is supported by ICOM-Europe, NEMO and the MICHAEL Association.

# 2) Jeannette Frey

To represent research libraries, LIBER. Jeannette is the vice-president of LIBER, Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de recherche, the main network for research libraries in Europe, including more than 400 national, university and other libraries. LIBER's strategy 2018-2022 aims at the realisation of Open Science and powering sustainable knowledge in the Digital Age, as research libraries will become platforms for innovative scholarly communication, a hub for digital skills and services, and partner in pan-European research infrastructure. Research libraries and Europeana should therefore stay strong partners. CERL supports Jeannette's candidacy. CERL supports the nomination of Jeannette Frey by LIBER.

#### 3) Karin van Honacker

To represent EURBICA. She is chef de section Relations internationales et externs (international relations) at the State Archives Belgium.

# 4) Nicola Mazzanti (t.b.c)

To represent cinematheque and film archives. Nicola is the director of Royal Film Archive of Belgium and was on Europeana Board under the old governance between 2012 and 2015.

- 5) Nominee of European Museum Academy (t.b.c)
- 6) CENL, Roly Keating the Chair cannot manage the additional workload but it has been suggested that someone else from the CENL Executive Committee could potentially take up the position, but we have yet to hear back.



# **Expert**

The Board accepted Stef Lewandowski's resignation with immediate effect. In view of the Strategy Update, the Board should consider to open up the position to a different field of expertise e.g. the semantics with pertaining networks to tap into and benefit from. Europeana's emphasis over the next couple of years will be towards education and research where we enjoy representation with JLR and LH. Creative Industries will take a backseat in focus for the coming 18-24 months. Europeana Board could consider a) future trends (technological, social and cultural) that might affect our strategy; b) networking in Southern and Eastern Europe and/or outside of cultural heritage. The focus should be on seniority/authority giving us connections at the top of organisations. Nomination of experts, their field of expertise and the rationale behind the nomination was made via and collected on basecamp between 7 and 21 March 2017. The Board takes into account the refined Strategy 2020 and the geographic provenance and votes in writing via basecamp between 21 March and 5 April 2017 to appoint the expert member. The second most voted candidate shall be the reserve candidate for the seat. The Board shall officially adopt the results of the voting at the meeting of 6 April 2017 and shall give a mandate to JC to approach the candidate with the highest number of votes. The second most voted will be the reserve candidate.

#### Nominees:

- 1) <u>Herbert van der Sompel</u> Belgian, degrees in mathematics, computer science and communication science. Lately scientist and Team Leader, Digital Library Research and Prototyping Team at Los Alamos National Laboratory.
- 2) Sylvain Zimmer French, dotConferences, Jamendo
- 3) Alexander Knetig French, Interactive commissioning editor at ARTE
- 4) Juliane Schulze Peacefulfish
- 5) The Web of Things suggestion from Jeannette Frey
- 6) <u>Brunello Cucinelli</u> Italian, fashion designer and chief executive of <u>The Cucinelli Foundation</u>. He donates up to 20% of his profits. Founder of The School of Arts and Crafts in Solomeo.

#### Vice Chair

At the 27 February Board meeting in The Hague, the Board approved to defer the nomination and possibly the appointment for the position of the Vice Chair to the meeting of 6 April when there is a bigger pool of Board members.

#### Proposed action

The Board will vote on basecamp for the three seats of content holder associations and the seat of expert via basecamp until between 30 March and 5 April 2017. The results of the basecamp voting and the resolution to appoint the representatives of content holder associations and the expert will be approved and adopted during the meeting on 6 April.

With a bigger pool of Board Members in place, nominations for the position of Vice Chair will open at the meeting of 6 April.



# Circulation:

Europeana Foundation Governing Board Members & Observers

# **Classification:**

Public